More intelligent spammers
Published December 20th, 2006 in Exploits/Vulnerabilities, SpamI suppose there’s two ways for a spammer to evolve their craft. 1) Create a better piece of malware (package) 2) Create a better invitation.
Although the packages have progressively been getting better, I’ve been of the opinion that the invitations have not improved at the same pace.
However, I did receive an interesting semi-targeted spam today that made me curious. Here’s the text:
——————————————————————————–
Mr Trenton Zakary , recommended us your company Exclamake!. Below you will find a proforma invoice with the full details of our first order. Please sign and send back to us by fax or email: proforma-invoice
Thank you in advance, and contact us as soon as you can, with a full offer. Also let us know if the prices you published here at http://www.apicella.org/ are right or not.
——————————————————————————–
Manager Kobe Derick .
Hunter & Soons LLC, California
Phone: 388-638-6978
Fax: 942-552-8828
Note that it’s well written, provides some information that it’s a local company (California), and has our complete company name with the exclamation point, the linked-to apicella.org appears legit, and no spelling errors!
Now where it lacks some credibility: area codes for Phone and Fax don’t match, both area codes don’t exist, header says the message is from Branson & Soons LLC, footer says the message is from Hunter & Soons LLC, reply email is noreply@superpages.com.
Clicking on the proforma-invoice link takes you to a webpage with a thumbnail of a .scr file (with who knows what kind of package). The html file itself is exploiting one of the more recent XML4 vulnerabilities. Microsoft identifies it as HTML/Xmlreq.A ISC has info here. My guess is that my email address (company inbox)  was harvested from superpages.com and this spam was generated from a script to insert the state.
Be careful!
No Responses to “More intelligent spammers”
Please Wait
Leave a Reply
You must log in to post a comment.